The 2018 Social Worker of the Year awards took place in London on Friday 30th November. Entries for this year's awards open on Wednesday 3rd April. #SWA19

Ministerial / Sector support

The Social Worker of the Year Awards are supported by both the Department for Education and Department of Health and Social Care.


The Rt Hon Damian Hinds MP, Secretary of State for Education, described the awards as "a great opportunity to celebrate achievements together" which provides "inspiration for the next generation of social workers".


Caroline Dinenage MP, Minister of State for Care, said: "Social workers are busy transforming lives at the heart of our care and support system - and thanks to events like the Social Worker of the Year Awards, many more of us are discovering how, where and why."


The awards have also been praised by Nadhim Zahawi MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Children and Families, who attended the 2017 winner's reception at the House of Commons and recorded an exclusive video message which was played at the 2018 ceremony.

The video messages show the support that the government has towards the social work profession and we are in regular communication with their respective offices to keep them updated with our plans for upcoming awards ceremonies and events.


The awards are also supported by four patrons; celebrity chef and Government fostering ambassador Lorraine Pascale, Tim Loughton MP, Baroness Valerie Howarth of Breckland OBE and Shadow Children's Minister Emma Lewell-Buck MP. Each patron is a champion for social work and social workers and we're delighted to have their support.


Meanwhile, the two Chief Social Workers, Lyn Romeo and Isabelle Trowler, have supported the awards for the past five years by joining our prestigious judging panel, very kindly taking the time to review some of the nominations we receive.