The 2018 Social Worker of the Year awards took place in London on Friday 30th November. Entries for this year's awards open on Wednesday 3rd April. #SWA19

How do I enter?


To enter, you will need to register your details on our online entry system and complete the entry form for your chosen category. Complete it fully and submit it before midnight on Friday 20th July 2018.


Click here to see a full list of categories.


If you have any questions regarding your entry to the Social Worker of the Year Awards, you can contact Annabelle Rennie on 01473 326404 or email, who will be pleased to help.

Is there a word limit?

Yes, some of the sections in the entry forms are limited to a maximum number of words. Word limits must be displayed in each individual section and entries with sections that are over the word limit will not be accepted.

Can I submit supporting evidence?

You are welcome to submit support documents with your entry, however, we ask that you submit no more than two additional files, with a maximum of four pages, at a maximum file size of 5 MB. Supporting documents that exceed these guidelines will not be accepted.

What category should I enter?

There are 16 categories available to enter this year across both children’s and adult services. Categories include Children’s/Adult Social Worker of the Year, Team of the Year for Children/Adult services and Newly Qualified Children’s/Adult Social Worker of the Year. There are also some more specialised categories, like Mental Health Social Worker of the Year, Student Social Worker of the Year and Practice Educator of the Year. There is also a new category for 2018 called 'Making a Difference', which is for qualified social workers who are not employed by a local authority.


Click here to see a full list of categories.


It should be clear which category would be suitable for you to enter, but if you have any questions or would like some advice, our Awards Co-ordinator, Annabelle Rennie, will be pleased to help. You can contact her on 01473 326404 or email

Can I enter more than one category?

You are welcome to enter more than one category, however, you will need to complete and submit a separate entry for each entry. The criteria for different categories will often be very different, with the judges looking for different qualities and achievements, so you may need to tailor your nomination form accordingly to the category you are entering.

What is the deadline?

Entries for the 2018 Social Worker of the Year Awards close on 20th July at midnight. Entries submitted after this time will not be accepted.


Entries must be made via the online entry system.


How will the judging process work?

Our judging panel is made up of respected industry professionals and people who have used social work services. Each judge will be given one or two categories to judge, and after entries close on Friday 20th July they will be sent the entry forms for review.


The panel will then meet in September to discuss the entries to each category and determine a shortlist. We normally try to shortlist five entries for each category. Each entry will then be scored and Gold and Silver winners will be chosen for each category.


The shortlist of finalists will be announced in October 2018.

How do you select your judges?

The judging panel is made up of:

  • Leading industry professionals - invited to join the panel based upon their expertise within the social work profession 
  • Former care leavers and people who have received support from social workers 
  • Representatives from some of our sponsors (to avoid any potential conflicts of interest they do not judge the category that they are supporting)
  • Peers and colleagues - we invite a select number of winners from the previous year to join our judging panel for a year


All judges kindly give up their time on a voluntary basis.